Review: Shatter Me


English Version:

Shatter me

 

By TAHEREH MAFI

 

Review

Theodora Petcan

 

“I have a curse.

I HAVE A GIFT.

I’m a monster.

I’M MORE THAN HUMAN.

My touch Is lethal.

MY TOUCH IS POWER.

I am their weapon.

I WILL FIGHT BACK.”

 

 

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

Darkness. I’m taking some air to my lungs. Tired. Tump. Tump. Tump. Tump. Four beats from my heart in less than two seconds. The walls close right onto me. I’m ready to run. But where? Juliette is my perfect way of putting myself into words in those days when my thoughts consume me, when the eyes that I cannot see feel so close, when everything I want are three things: coffee, o good book and some silence. For Juliette the best three things are, actually, only one: the worlds outside.

“I’m oxygen and he’s dying to breathe.”

Closed in an institution for almost a year, Juliette hasn’t seen the world outside, hasn’t breathed the polluted air, and hasn’t seen the war… She hadn’t done anything else besides feeling the hard texture of the room’s walls in which she’s being held.

Even though she is agreeing with the permanent mutilation of her liberty, she still cannot feel how her heart forgets to sing for a few moments when Adam, an old colleague from school, is being thrown into the same room as her, into the same darkness, into the same air. Even though Adam, apparently, doesn’t remember her, Juliette is still feeling her private space invaded, so she is refusing talking to him, watching him directly and she almost jumps up when he is being so near her.

” My parents emptied their pockets of me and left me to evaporate on a concrete slab.”Her touch can kill you. Think about the first moment when you’ve burned your hand, think about your first full of blood knee that you had, about your first deep cut, your first killing headache. Sum them all up, feel all the pains in the indicated places, multiply them by thousands of times and now feel them! Her touch, the draining of life from your body, the last goal: your death!

For the government Juliette becomes the most important killing machine that they have and when she finds out that the sweet, tempting and horribly beautiful – Adam is no one but a soldier in the governmental army, her soul and her love become shattered!

Adam confesses himself in a short period of time. Their love becoming the main fire that keeps unleashing itself in her insides after such a long time of loneliness and self hatred. Adam is immune to her touch. Adam can feel her in ways how no one ever could.

 

“I am nothing but novocaine. I am numb, a world of nothing, all feeling and emotion gone forever.
I am a whisper that never was.”

And maybe I was wishing to see the happy ending that was so imminent in my opinion, but the author simply pushed me into a Universe that I would understand only later. I’ve run on a corridor of my own mind, ready to launch myself right in front of the well-prepared bait. She just wanted to lure me out from Adam’s arms and push me into the arms of the dark, obsessed and beautiful – Warner.

“Someone picked up the sun and pinned it to the sky again, but every day it hangs a little lower than the day before. It’s like a negligent parent who only knows one half of who you are. It never sees how its absence changes people. How different we are in the dark.”

My heart  and Juliette’s heart began to rip themselves apart from us, throw themselves without hope into the arms that where promising so much of Warner’s, but if there wasn’t the safety, the happiness besides Adam, we probably would have had said “yes”, without thinking too much.

“Find me a cure for these tears, I’d really like to exhale for the first time in my life.”

Warner is such a jovial character, so ready to offer you everything, make you lose your words, but the fact that his own blood forgot to put some heat in it, putting only ice-cold temperatures, make you fearful, shiver under the influence of the cold that comes from him.

“His lips soften into a smile that cracks apart my spine. He repeats my name like the word amuses him. Entertains him. Delights him.

„In seventeen years no one has said my name like that”

I wish I could put myself into this book for a long time and as long as I kept reading it I was succeeding.

The book fascinated me from the first pages, the details making me to wish, deep inside, to stay hidden in the strong arms of Adam and get myself drunk with the words like “we will control the worlds together”, Warner’s words. I’ve danced every word, I’ve run in every undercover words, I forgot to control my heart in the end, but I never forgot to remember that I will be laying in front of my computer for the next novel..

“His eyes are two buckets of rainwater: deep, fresh, clear. Hurt.”

Happy Reading!

 

 

 

 

Romanian Version:

Spulberă-mă

 

By Tahereh Mafi

 

Recenzie

Theodora Petcan

 

“I have a curse.

I HAVE A GIFT.

I’m a monster.

I’M MORE THAN HUMAN.

My touch Is lethal.

MY TOUCH IS POWER.

I am their weapon.

I WILL FIGHT BACK.”

 

 

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

 

Întuneric. Trag aer în piept. Oboseală. Tump. Tump. Tump. Tump. Patru bătăi de inimă în mai puţin de două secunde. Pereţii se închid în jurul meu. Sunt gata să fug. Dar unde?

Juliette este transpunerea mea perfectă în zilele când gândurile mele pun stăpânire pe mine, când ochii care nu se văd îi simt atât de aproape, când tot ceea ce vreau nu sunt decât trei lucruri: cafea, o carte bună şi linişte. Pentru Juliette cele mai bune trei lucruri pe care şi le doreşte nu sunt decât, de fapt, unul singur: lumea de afară.

“I’m oxygen and he’s dying to breathe.”

Închisă într-un ospiciu de aproape un an, Juliette nu a mai văzut lumea de afară, nu a mai respirat aerul poluat, nu a mai văzut războiul.. Nu a făcut altceva decât să simtă textura dură a pereţilor din piatră a peşterii/camerei în care este încuiată.

Deşi este de acord cu mutilarea permanentă a libertăţii ei, tot nu poate să simtă cum inima ei uită să mai cânte pentru câteva momente când Adam, un fost coleg de la şcoală, este aruncat în aceeaşi celulă ca şi ea, în acelaşi întuneric, în acelaşi aer. Deşi Adam aparent nu îşi mai aminteşte de ea, Juliette încă îşi simte spaţiul privat invadat, aşa că refuză să îi vorbească, să îl privească direct, dar mai ales stă ca pe ace când el se afla atât de aproape de a o atinge.

” My parents emptied their pockets of me and left me to evaporate on a concrete slab.”

Atingerea ei te poate ucide. Gândeşte-te la primul moment când te-ai ars la mână, gândeşte-te la primul genunche plin de sânge pe care l-ai avut, la prima tăietură, prima durere sfâşietoare de cap. Adună-le pe toate acum, simte durerile în locurile indicate, înmulţeşte-le de mii de ori şi acum simţi! Atingerea ei, scurgerea de viaţă din tine, ultimul gol: moartea ta!

Pentru guvern Juliette devine cea mai importantă arma de distrugere în masă, iar când aceasta afla că scumpul, tentantul, terifiantul de frumos – Adam nu este altcineva decât un soldat din armata guvernamentală, sufletul şi iubirea ei se distrug.

Adam i se confesează în scurt timp. Dragostea lor devine principalul foc care se dezlănţuie în interiorul ei după atât de mult timp de singurătate şi auto detestare. Adam este imun atingerii ei. Adam poate să o simtă cum nimeni altcineva nu a putut vreodată.

“I am nothing but novocaine. I am numb, a world of nothing, all feeling and emotion gone forever.
I am a whisper that never was.”

Şi poate că îmi doream să prevăd finalul fericit atât de iminent, dar pur şi simplu autoarea m-a aruncat într-un univers pe care aveam să îl înţeleg mult mai târziu! Am alergat pe un coridor al propriei mele minţi gata să mă arunc din faţa unei asemenea momeli bine construite, de a mă atrage din braţele lui Adam şi de a mă arunca în braţele întunecatului, obsedatului şi frumosului Warner!

“Someone picked up the sun and pinned it to the sky again, but every day it hangs a little lower than the day before. It’s like a negligent parent who only knows one half of who you are. It never sees how its absence changes people. How different we are in the dark.”

Inima mea şi a lui Juliette au început amândouă să se despartă de noi două, să se arunce irevocabil în braţele care promiteau atât de mult ale lui Warner, dar dacă nu ar fi fost siguranţa, fericirea alături de Adam, probabil că am fi spus ‚da’, fără să ne gândim prea mult.

“Find me a cure for these tears, I’d really like to exhale for the first time in my life.”

Warner este atât de jovial, atât de pregătit să ofere totul, să te facă să te pierzi în cuvinte, dar faptul că sângele său a uitat să mai transporte şi căldură, transportând doar temperaturi reci, te fac s îţi fie teamă, să te cutremuri sub influenţa frigului pe care îl poate emana.

“His lips soften into a smile that cracks apart my spine. He repeats my name like the word amuses him. Entertains him. Delights him.

„In seventeen years no one has said my name like that”

Aş fi vrut să mă pot transpune în această carte pentru mult timp şi cât am citit-o chiar mi-a reuşit.

Cartea m-a fascinat de la primele pagini, amănuntele m-au făcut să îmi doresc, în interiorul meu, să rămân ascunsă în braţele puternice ale lui Adam şi să mă îmbăt în şoaptele de ‘vom cucerii lumea împreună’ ale lui Warner. Am dansat în fiecare cuvânt, am alergat în fiecare subînţeles, am uitat să îmi controlez inima în finalul iminent, dar nu am uitat să îmi amintesc că voi zace în faţa calculatorului pentru următorul volum..

“His eyes are two buckets of rainwater: deep, fresh, clear. Hurt.”

Lectura plăcută!

 

Nota mea: 5 / 5 stars

Tell us your opinion...

