Review: Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen


Ashes and Ice (Ashes and Ice #1)

She is desperate to remember.
He is aching to forget.
Together, they are not broken.
But together, one may not survive.

​Jade wakes up with no memory of her past and blood on her hands.

Plagued by wicked thoughts, she searches for answers. Instead, she finds a boy who doesn’t offer her answers, but hope. But sometimes, when nightmares turn into reality and death follows you everywhere, hope is not enough.

LUST. LOVE. LOSS. Sometimes, all that is left are Ashes and Ice

……………………………………………………………………………………….

My thoughts (Theo~): This was supposed to be a review
done in peace and silence, but with my brain yelling at me for reading this
book too fast and for reading the ending for more than three or four times it
is too hard to not say that I WANT MORE! This! This!! This book was freaking’
awesome!! How am I supposed to breathe normally and not yell from the top of my
lungs that I cannot believe IT! I am seriously considering fast-forwarding the
time so I can put my hands on the second book! It is not nice, really not nice
to leave a reader like this! It is bad! Deliciously bad!
I recognize that at first I was like:
and then:
followed by:
and then I understood:
but in the end I was like:
 
Uh… calming down a little bit…
Now… about the characthers!
Jade is
extremely beautiful in my opinion, sure of herself and ready to shatter the
world for finding her answers! Yet, she is shy, always questioning herself and
taking small steps before heading towards her final goal. She is also not
remembering anything and that only increases her fear, questioning herself even
more about whom she really is! And she sure is not just some random girl!
Connor is
smart, in his own way, calm and detached. He is also lonely and still grieving
after his late father that he still misses every day, not ready to let go! But he
is seeing Jade, he feels this pull towards her, this strength that is
whispering to him to catch her eye one more time, to sense her proximity with
only a fingertip!


“~Jade~
I dream of drowning and red doors and dead things. It
is not a restful night, but even with my nightmares, I hold onto the one tiny
hope I am closer to answers. I have a name, a place and I hope with the two I
will at least be pointed in the right direction.”

They both start this friendship that
they both do not know where it is leading. Jade because she does not know how
to be human feels, and Connor because he seeks for her attention like he had
never ever felt. When they are spending time together, they are happy, fearless
and ready to confront everything before themselves. Connor’s mom loves her,
Connor’s uncles love her, and Nanan – the woman who is looking over Jade
because she just felt like doing it – likes Connor. It’s a mutual understatement
that they both are being cherished by people they never thought they should
feel cherished by.


“A red glow pulsates around Connor. It wraps around him and
reaches out to me, pulling me closer to him. Even when his eyes fall away from
me, the connection isn’t broken. Something real and tangible is between us,
reaching. It has been so long since he’s beamed light. I smile at him and walk
down the stairs, feeling a warmth and electricity in the air . But his eyes are
shy and he doesn’t look at me again. In fact, he looks everywhere but at me.
For a moment, I’m hurt. But then, I just keep glancing at the glow around him
and nothing else matters.”

The grieving is getting lost in
Connor’s memories. The need for finding who she truly is lost in Jade’s eyes
because she is whole with him by her side! He teaches her to not fear the
water. He helps her find her way to New Orleans. He helps her be her! But when your
“just-realized-I-love-you-girl” tries to kill you, you know you are
in big trouble!
 

“Well, it’s good that there may be something in life to look
forward to.”

Jade is changed, something evil,
something bad resurfaces her skin, her brain, her life, making her go into
bad-girl-monster-like-type-of-girl and not in a good way at all! She is now
chased by her own demons, making sure that her past is catching up with her. Yet,
just another lesson that you can never burry the past enough from your brain,
even when you do not know your own past, it just tends to catch up with you no
matter where you are and what you are going to do!


I want to kiss her and tell her I do like her, but not like
Dominic—I like her so much more than that. I love her. And I want her to choose
me. I start to lean in closer to her, the strength within me taking charge. A
man clears his throat at the door.
I’m startled and my head snaps up. It’s Wade. Dammit.
He’s leaning on the
doorway, looking at us with lazy, but amused eyes. “Atta boy, Connor.” He
winks. “Didn’t know you had it in you.”
I want to sit up, but Jade’s legs are still around me and
she is too strong. I would have to flinch away and that would be obvious.
“But in terms of the general order of events,” he says,
“first you lock the door.” He points to the door, “and second—“ I already know
what he is going to say. I close my eyes to brace myself and try to plead with
him to shut up, “Wa—“ He doesn’t wait for me to finish, “And second, your
clothes have to come off sometime or this whole thing won’t work too well.”

 

 

Mysteries just start to pop-up
everywhere and Temptation, Jealousy and Pride start to make their own little
dance, start to make their own little smiling like I-know-you-have-had-been-a-really-bad-bad-girl!
Connor finally found out about the
real past months of his father life, he starts to understand his father again,
seeing him in a new light, with a new shadow casted upon himself, with his own
monsters to fight!

She
is coming!”

She really is coming! She is here
right now; right this moment and you do not even know it! Because this is how
this book is! Will work you up to no point, will tangle you into its words like
some medusa and not letting you reach for anything! You are here now!
Will Jade’s and Connor love work
out? Will they both survive? Will the paranormal become too much to handle? Will
everything become real? Will they both just not
let go
?


My Rating: 
Happy Reading everyone~!

Tell us your opinion...

