Review: The Gathering (Darkness Rising #1) by Kelley Armstrong


Review: The Gathering (Darkness Rising #1) by Kelley Armstrong

 

 

 

The Gathering (Darkness Rising #1)

by Kelley Armstrong

 

 
Sixteen-year-old Maya is just an ordinary teen in an ordinary town. Sure, she doesn’t know much about her background – the only thing she really has to cling to is an odd paw-print birthmark on her hip – but she never really put much thought into who her parents were or how she ended up with her adopted parents in this tiny medical-research community on Vancouver Island.

Until now.

Strange things have been happening in this claustrophobic town – from the mountain lions that have been approaching Maya to her best friend’s hidden talent for “feeling” out people and situations, to the sexy new bad boy who makes Maya feel . . . . different. Combine that with a few unexplained deaths and a mystery involving Maya’s biological parents and it’s easy to suspect that this town might have more than its share of skeletons in its closet.

 

My thoughts (Theo~):

I have had started this book because someone insisted that it is a good series and I just couldn’t stand the thought of not reading at least one of them before I finished what I was already planning on readying!

All I can say is that I was not disappointed by this book! At all!

First of all I was surprised by Maya’s actions, the way she was such a natural character, without too much information to struggle understanding about her, it was like I’ve never left this book out of my hands before and now I am just reconnecting. And that made it a special book. Because the details were sometimes too many of them, because the action was free of too many arguments or conflicts.

This is what I’ve liked about it in the first place, the easy-going type of book. You can read it now for two hours and come back to it in three days and feel like you’ve never ever put a bookmark on it and left it on your nightstand for example.

The characters were easy to understand and to make connections with. Maya is your high-school-normal-type of girl, who’ve had ran all her life into the wildness of the forest that she is living in, whom always knew how to keep the cougars far away from her. Yet some changes come when her best friend dies. She is devastated by the death of her best friend, but never really questions it too much, until some things start to not add up as well as they did until then: things like – she was on the swimming team, the best of the best, yet she drowned without a further notice just because something might have had been pulling her down.

Maya is not easy to please, and she is also not ready to forgive herself for the death, but she is also living her life and trying to please her parents as much as she can, but when you are a strong-willed type of person, kind of hard to decide on what is right and what is not right.

Rafe is the new boy in town – a small town now that we are covering this ground, with only scientist and medical researchers to do the job and be sure that their new inventions are not stolen – is the type of character that helps a lot by not actually showing that he is helping. And Maya sorts of falls for him, I still don’t know if she is in love with him or not, just yet, but she sure thinks to a whole lot of another level and he knows it.

They are both different, but it is hard to decide when it is time to release the truth about them both, but you sort of figured it out while you were readying the book!

But then again there is Daniel. He is the best friend since childhood, guy, and the ex-boyfriend of her dead best friend. I still don’t know if I am sympathizing with him because of his abusive father or his past, or because he really does have the “human-effect” on me and I suppose that is sort of annoying with me. But he is smart, self-educated, and also beautiful! But then again, he is hiding something from Maya, I could read it in his reply, or the way he tried to avoid a touchy-feely subject with her. Maybe they are like brothers after all, but I could see him wanting more and I just can’t get him out of my head for just that.

All in all, the book was great and full of expectations that were almost fulfilled. I was sometimes disappointed by the fact that the characters were just not realising some facts until they were almost thirty pages ahead when I first figured it out, but I guess that is okay, that you can be patient with it and wait for them to realise some things!

Happy readying everyone!

 

My rating: 4.5 /5 butterflies

Tell us your opinion...

