Review: Taunting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #2) by Amelia Hutchins


Review: Taunting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #2) by Amelia Hutchins

 

Taunting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #2)

by Amelia Hutchins

 

 
I thought things were bad and weird before – hold on – it’s getting worse.

Adam and I are both going through identity crises of epic proportions as we Transition from who we were, and discover who we were meant to be. More Fae are dying, and I feel as if time is running out for us to find all of those responsible and put an end to the killings.

The people I thought I could trust have betrayed me and the one person I should absolutely not trust; is taking me deeper and deeper into his world.

Ryder’s secrets are dangerous and devastating.

With each touch and word, he pulls my heart closer to himself and at the same time he is trying to keep me at arm’s length. The dance he and I have begun, is getting more complicated as our worlds are being shaken from all sides, and the visions of the future are frightening, and nothing like I had ever pictured for myself or those I care for.

This time, destiny is taunting me.

I had always thought that I controlled my destiny. Now, my rights are being taken from me by powerful people and leaving me with alternatives that range between bad and awful.

This time, the choices I have to make can decide the fate of both worlds.

Everything is unraveling, and nothing will ever be the same again.

 

 

 

 

My thoughts (Theo~):

This book will make you cry all over again with frustration and all the nervousness you can accumulate only by readying the first few pages! I know that for me it did that and a lot more after!

You cannot make me read something like this and expect me to stay chill and relaxed while you are simply killing my neurons, not nice Mrs. Hutchins! Not nice at all, but hey! I do not complain about the awesomeness of this book!

This journey it is not for the ones not ready to let loose and experience a few tricks… or more.

Ryder is as always a maniac ready to break your thoughts even if you are not even a part of the book! He is capable of simply making you forget your life only by his presence! Do not let yourself fooled, you might want to put yourself back later and won’t be able to! He is smart, mythical, a mystery and one hell of a boyfriend in bed! He is ready to make you forget all your inhibitions and start begging while you are on your knees and saying “please” over and over again! He is ambitious, protective, caring, yet destructive! He can make you and destroy you, he is ruled by things you have had never heard of, because he is that old!

Synthia is as stubborn as ever and everything is against her and her new powers! How can that be, anyway? She has been hidden by truths and lies only she can know, but her own memory is against herself and now she is forced to play at two sides! She knows that she is in love, but she does not want to say it out loud, it might get too real! Yet, destiny is simply taunting her and her emotions over and over again. She is just ready to commit when another blow is send to her; she is no longer capable of deciding what she wants or what she does not want to decide! She is no longer the strong, stubborn-over-the-moon-and-back-witch, she is nothing she ever knew of herself, she is just another witch/fae that she had no idea of being until a couple of chapters back!

She is as surprised of this as anyone would be if they found out that they are no longer whom they thought they were! Her emotions are unstable, her life is turned upside down [even more than before if that can even be possible], her destiny is all over the place! How can she even survive?

But she can and she will because she is that strong and that ready to break everything every man ever knew! Nothing is what it seems until the end!

And after everything, she is still ready to recognise her love and her feelings, she is sure she belongs to a certain someone, yet she is ready to make the supreme sacrifice! Marry so everyone can live happily ever after! She is committed to this cause, she feels it in her bones, but still she can no longer shut the door of her own heart and pretend that everything will be okay, but with the necessary push she is still as ready as ever.

She can make it, everyone will be happy, but her own happiness is still missing. Fair? No. Does anyone care? No again. Yet she is there, the massive pillar of supportiveness that everyone needs!

I’ve cried for her because I’ve felt her pain and her confusion. I’ve fought alongside with her because I was seeing the blackness of her future simply colliding with my hands and not letting me go. I was there for her because of the way her own body was shutting down, so that everyone would smile in the end.

She is ready to save an entire nation without even blinking! The nation she was used to kill not a long time ago. But she is ready to let go and her own soul is crying over this, but she is ready!

But alongside of all those tumultuous emotions, there is still hope! There is still a little bit of sunshine at the end of all this blackness, is it not? There is, right?

Not when you are sacrificing everything for everyone! You think you’ve escaped, you’ve discovered your long-lost family, yet now you will be given away. Again. And again.

 

Happy readying everyone~!

My rating: 5 / 5 stars

Tell us your opinion...

