Review: Crashing Back Down (Crashing #1) by Kristen Hope Mazzola


Crashing Back Down (Crashing #1)

by Kristen Hope Mazzola

Mags McManus has just become a war widow in her mid-twenties. Her late husband, Randy, left for the Army right after their wedding. Instead of celebrating his homecoming and living in marital bliss with her soulmate, Mags finds herself living in constant agony. Dealing with the guilt of still living without Randy, are Randy’s best friends and parents.

Rising from the ashes of this tragedy, Mags starts to learn how to love and trust again, finally being able to find happiness. But sometimes things really are too good to be true and again Mags learns how cruel the world can be as she crashes back down.

This is the author’s debut novel!

**18+ for sexual situations, cursing, and adult content.***

 
 
 
My thoughts (Theo~):
I have had received a copy from the
author in exchange of an honest review!
I do not even know where to begin. I
am at loss for words or facial expressions right now. I do not think that I will
make this right, but I will try my best!
Mags is your
hard-working typical woman. Barely twenty four she has already everything. A nice
job, a loving husband and the life she always wanted for herself! But what
happens when everything is ripped apart from you? You lose yourself and succumb
to the numbness because it is easier to cope with life, to make things as bad
for you as ever.
When her husband Randy dies in a
tragic accident in the army, Mags is simply torn apart and left bleeding right
there with him even though she was miles apart! Her heart is left to be
shattered by words that will never be spoken by the soft velvety voice of her
beloved husband!
She is losing not only her husband,
but her best friend and survivor. Randy was everything to her and life simply
does not matter anymore if you only light is being turn off and you are left to
wander through a darkness that you are not sure you are ready to face!
Her demons are coming back for her
every night, her life is miserable and everything is just another breath until
she will find herself dying of old age!
But not everything is supposed to
die alone and left for the wolves to be fed from! Her salvation comes from the
only person that she has been with since she met Randy: his and her best friend
from college – Walker!
He is also an army player and
someone with a lot of rough edges, but he is now her only constant and person
to talk to! She sees him as her best friend and person to talk to when the days
are just passing by in slow motion!
What she does not expect is her life
to be lifted upside-down again! She is thrown right at the concept that
everything is being played against her! Walker does not only have feelings for
her, but she also starts to reciprocate them somehow!
But she is still so full of guilt
and so ashamed that she is questioning her every step!
Cali, also her best friend from
college, is there to support her, show her the sunshine again, but she is
getting more and more sucked by the man that once was her best friend. Mags starts
to see a therapist and everything starts to drive slowly to a happy ending!
I have had grasped her suffering,
her guilt even her continuous “not being sincere with myself thing”, but at the
end I’ve lost it! I was so ready to seek the future and everything was being
ripped away from me! And that totally blew me away! I was not sure what to do
with myself from there on because I was seeing the pages closing to an end, yet
the story was in full swing! I was not prepared and that made me contest my
ability to understand the characters as well as I thought I did!
I coped with her despair, I cared
and longed for Walker to be the chosen one, but my fantasies had been ripped
apart with a twist that left me breathless and confused! I just do not seek the
point in running over a reader with a truck and expect him or her to still breathe
after the impact!
I recommend this book to all of you
ready to cry, ready to long for Walker, those of you ready to shallow every
last drop of shame you can get or for those of you ready to drawn in self-pity!
Happy readying everyone~!
 
 
Tell us your opinion...

