Review: Escaping Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #3) by Amelia Hutchins


Escaping Destiny (The Fae Chronicles #3)
by Amelia Hutchins 

I thought things couldn’t get worse. I was wrong.
I found out what I really wanted and was forced to give him up. Just as I found out who I really am, I was presented to the elusive Horde King as a gift.
This was the mystical being I was hidden from for more than twenty years.
Although Ryder promised to save me, I couldn’t let him get near this creature, so I willingly (sort of) signed myself over to be his new plaything.
Now in the Horde Realm, nothing is going remotely like I thought it would.
My powers and emotions are on the fritz, and each day seems to bring surprises that I am not sure how to deal with.
The Horde King thinks he has me exactly where he wants me.
He thinks he has taken all of my options away.
I still have choices.
Embracing what destiny has planned for me, or escaping it.
 

“I’m not the kind of man to woo anyone. I can make her scream my name to the rafters, isn’t that enough wooing?”

My thoughts (Theo):
This book is the third one in the
series ‘The Fae Chronicles’ and I can tell you with all my heart that it is
definitely not a disappointment! I was waiting for this book to come out for
more than half a year and my expectations were fulfilled and I got so excited
during the readying process of this book!
The characters:
as you remember we are dealing with the badass beauty Synthia. An amazing warrior, ex-witch, actual Fae and someone with
so many hidden powers that I was thrilled that the author made me smile and say
‘Daaaamn, didn’t see that one coming!’
Synthia discovers through the second
book that she is Fae and gets through transition thanks to the
raw-made-extremely-beautiful-and-dark-and-dangerous Ryder! But that is not all! If you remember Syn was also thought to
be the Light Princess, yet she is the Blood Princess and destined to be not
Adam’s wife, but the Horde King’s wife! What’s the matter? Well, when you are promised
since childhood to the worst creature out there, you tend to freak out. Big time!
And Syn just does that, preparing herself to kill the bastard, preparing
herself to get back to her love – Ryder and try and save Faery with his help.
It does not seem like there might be
a problem now, does it? But there is a big problem? The Horde King is actually
Ryder himself, and if that means happy ending and all that shit, well it’s not!
Because as the Horde King he has concubines, a future fiancée (actual fiancée?)
and Syn just discovers that she is pregnant! With Ryder!
Will you let him rule you or will
you try to fight back? Obviously you fight back as hard as you can, but when it
comes to pleasure he can dominate you if you get so much pleasure out of it!
But right now even though a future fiancée
might get the trouble get in line, there are more important things to attend. Like
the fact that Faery is still dying, children are barely surviving and everyone
needs protection. Where do you add that the Mags are still following Synthia
and trying to destroy her and the babies?
I loved the fact that even though at first she was not agreeing with the
pregnancy, her inner thoughts were giving her away. The mother instinct was
taking over and after some time if anyone would dare to fuck with her kids they
might try to think that twice.
With the idea that the children
might not survive Synthia is getting angrier and angrier by the minute and if nobody
is doing anything she might. But darker forces are there to get in her way and
Ryder’s. Bigger powers are at stake and sometimes even hidden feelings can come
through a barrier created by shadows and darkness.
Ryder gets attached, his beast is
there to get what’s his and secrets have a way to show up when you definitely
do not want them to interfere.
Ristan – the
demon – this time he made it through my heart. I deserve to get that demon a medal and congratulate him for
making me smile when I thought there was no hope. I loved his replies and how
he made everything sound so perverted that I was sure we were not in the middle
of a war.
Danu pissed
me off most of the time, but as the Goddess that she is in the end I finally
understood her way. Somehow I managed to get her, but not totally, which means
that I still not crazy enough to compare to her.
Ryder – well
here everything goes to Hell! He pissed me off so frequently that I was sure I was
going to get to him and kill him with my bare hands even if that meant
insanity. I was fighting against every single fibber of my body not to strangle
him, but he sort of made sense and that meant that I was not supposed to kill
him just yet.
Loved his way of making everything
sound so simple when obviously nothing was; and got out of his skin to protect
Synthia and his unborn children. I loved his protectiveness and the fact that
he was ready to destroy the world to make her happy.
The action:
in the second volume we were left hanging when Synthia was presented to the
Horde King and she had no idea who he was. But she soon finds out that the
Horde King is Ryder and slowly understands his awareness towards the fact that
no one was supposed to know that he had killed his father – the real Horde King
– twenty or so years ago.
But now he wants to make Faery whole
again, he wants to find a way to put every single relic in place and bring the
life back to his land. But he needs Synthia help and the prophecy says that
their children will restore the peace and order.
Synthia is constantly living with
the fear of losing her children. Is constantly stressed about the fact that she
has to play even a bigger part in this, but she is so fearless that she even
makes it through the journey of going through the Dark Labyrinth and getting
back another relic.
She is also stressed about the
concubines and about the fiancée that still has to get to the castle, but she
is also awed by the fact that Ryder wants to be romantic towards her. She makes
the demon her best friend and finds out a lot of things that she has to keep to
herself.
Loved the action and the ways the
author made me want to read faster, yet wanted to prolong the ending. I loved
this book so much that when it ended I was not sighing with relief, but with
need for the next book. Now I am left hanging again and in need for the next
book! But, until then I still get to re-read three amazing books and refresh my
memories once in a while! Thank you for your amazing work, Mrs. Hutchins! You
rocked my world!

 

Review to ‘Fighting Destiny’ and ‘Taunting Destiny’:
 
 
 
My rating:

 

Tell us your opinion...

